Skip to content

Friday October 23, 2020 Salt Lake City, UT

Press Release

Protecting Utah

REAL ID Enforcement Deadline Extended Until October 1, 2021

Thursday March 26, 2020
Text reads: Update: REAL ID Deadline extended to October 1, 2021

On March 26, 2020, the Department of Homeland Security released the following statement regarding REAL ID enforcement deadline.

“Due to circumstances resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic and the national emergency declaration, the Department of Homeland Security, as directed by President Donald J. Trump, is extending the REAL ID enforcement deadline beyond the current October 1, 2020 deadline. I have determined that states require a twelve-month delay and that the new deadline for REAL ID enforcement is October 1, 2021. DHS will publish a notice of the new deadline in the Federal Register in the coming days.”

“The federal, state and local response to the spread of the Coronavirus here in the United States necessitates a delay in this deadline. Our state and local partners are working tirelessly with the Administration to flatten the curve and, therefore, we want to remove any impediments to response and recovery efforts. States across the country are temporarily closing or restricting access to DMVs. This action will preclude millions of people from applying for and receiving their REAL ID. Extending the deadline will also allow the Department to work with Congress to implement needed changes to expedite the issuance of REAL IDs once the current health crisis concludes.”

“Protecting both the health and national security of the American people continues to be the top priority for the President of the United States and the Department of Homeland Security.”

TSA INFORMATION REGARDING DRIVER LICENSES FOR AIR TRAVEL

On Tuesday, March 16th, the Transportation Security Administration issued the following statement regarding driver licenses for air travel.

In light of the current national health crisis, we will be allowing people with driver’s licenses that expired beginning March 1, and who are not able to renew their license, to use it as acceptable ID at checkpoints for 1 year after the expiration date, plus 60 days after the COVID-19 national emergency.

Learn more at https://www.tsa.gov/coronavirus

Animated drawing of a hand holding a driver license.
###

MEDIA CONTACT

Nick Street
DPS Public Affairs Director
Department of Public Safety
NSTREET@UTAH.GOV

SHARE THIS STORY

More from the News Room

Motorcyclist Killed on I-80

June 2020

Fatal Crash: San Juan County on SR-191 at Milepost 78

May 2020

Utah’s New Lane Filtering Law

May 2019

Wrong-Way Vehicle Causes Fatal Crash on I-80 at about 7600 West (MM 111)

October 2020

Fatal Crash on SR-24 near Vermillion

October 2020

Police Reform – DPS Commissioner’s Report to the Governor

October 2020