Skip to content

Monday September 16, 2019 Salt Lake City, UT

Inside DPS

Utah’s New Lane Filtering Law

May 8, 2019

The Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS) is comprised of 11 divisions and bureaus that include the Utah Highway Patrol, the Division of Emergency Management, Driver License division, Statewide Information and Analysis Center (SIAC), State Bureau of Investigation (SBI), State Fire Marshal, Highway Safety Office, Communications, State Crime Lab, Bureau of Criminal Identification, and Peace Officers Standards and Training (POST).  The DPS dive team, Aero Bureau, Special Emergency Response Team (SERT) and Public Protection Unit (PPU) also fall under the Department of Public Safety. DPS is made up of more than 1,500 state employees who are stationed across Utah.

Those 11 divisions are made up of dedicated public servants who often times go unrecognized. From Troopers to driver license clerks to forensic scientist and dispatcher; each one has a story. Our goal is to share their untold stories with Utah. We’re excited to take you ‘Inside DPS’.