Utah Permit-Less Concealed Carry H.B. 60 Frequently Asked Questions
The Utah Legislature recently passed and Governor Spencer J. Cox recently signed House Bill 60 (H.B. 60) Conceal Carry Firearms Amendments. This changes Utah’s law regarding concealed firearm permits (CFP). Below are answers to some frequently asked questions about this change. For more information about CFPs, visit the Bureau of Criminal Identification: https://bci.utah.gov
TEXT ONLY VERSION
What does H.B. 60 change?
This bill provides that an individual who is 21 years old or older, and may lawfully possess a firearm, may carry a concealed firearm in a public area without a permit, with some exceptions. https://le.utah.gov/~2021/bills/static/HB0060.html
When does H.B. 60 go into effect?
May 5, 2021
Until H.B. 60 goes into effect will I still need a CFP to concealed carry?
After H.B. 60 goes into effect on May 5, 2021, can I still obtain a new CFP?
Yes, you can still go through the process to obtain a permit after May 5th. Utah has reciprocal agreements with 36 other states that recognize Utah’s permit in their state. If you choose not to get a permit in Utah and you travel to a state that requires a permit to carry open or concealed, then you are subject to the laws of that state. Additionally, federal law requires a permit to concealed carry on school grounds. A CFP will still allow you to waive the $7.50 background check fee when purchasing a firearm.
Can I continue to renew my Utah CFP after H.B. 60 goes into effect?
Yes, you can continue to renew or obtain your Utah CFP.
If I want to renew or obtain a new Utah CFP, do I still need to pay a fee?
Yes, the fee schedules for obtaining or renewing a Utah CFP remain unchanged. All fees previously incurred to obtain or renew a CFP are non-refundable.
If I travel to a state that has reciprocity with Utah’s concealed permit, do I still need to have a CFP to concealed carry there?
Yes. Utah has reciprocal agreements with 36 other states that recognize Utah’s permit in their state. If you choose not to get a permit in Utah and you travel to a state that requires a permit to carry open or concealed, then you are subject to the laws of that state.