Skip to content

Monday August 10, 2020 Salt Lake City, UT

Highway Safety

Protecting Utah

Drive Safely Near School Zones and Bus Stops

Tuesday November 13, 2018

There was a recent deadly week for kids at the bus stop. Tragedies in Florida, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi and Pennsylvania have left parents without children, and have drastically changed families, and communities across the country.

The Utah Department of Public Safety is joining the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to urge you to drive safely, and remember these rules about school bus safety:

Tips for Motorists:

  • Be alert and slow down when driving in neighborhoods with school zones.
  • Watch for children walking, playing or assembling near bus stops. Children arriving late for the bus may dart into the street without looking for traffic.
  • Obey the school bus laws in your State, as well as the “flashing signal light system” used for school buses.
    • Yellow flashing lights indicate the bus is preparing to stop to load or unload children. Motorists should slow down and prepare to stop their vehicles.
    • Red flashing lights and extended stop armsindicate the bus has stopped and children are getting on or off. Motorists must stop their cars and wait until the red lights stop flashing, the extended stop-arm is withdrawn, and the bus begins moving before they can start driving again.

Tips for caregivers and students:

  • Arrive at the bus stop at least five minutes before the bus is scheduled to arrive. Stand at least three giant steps (six feet) away from the curb.  The bus stop is not a place to run or play.
  • When the school bus arrives, wait until the bus comes to a complete stop, the door opens, and the driver says it’s okay before approaching the bus door. Use the handrails to avoid falling.
  • Never walk behind a school bus. Walk on a sidewalk or along the side of the street.  Cross the street in front of the bus with at least five giant steps (10 feet) between the front of the bus and you.  Make eye contact with the bus driver before crossing to make sure the driver can see you.
  • If you drop something near the school bus, like a ball or book, tell the bus driver right away. Do not try to pick up the item, because the driver might not be able to see you.

Concern for the safety of students is spreading nationwide and it’s imperative that you take time to spread the word to your friends, families, neighbors, and followers.

Young lives depend on you driving safely.

SHARE THIS STORY

More from the News Room

Motorcyclist Killed on I-80

June 2020

Fatal Crash: San Juan County on SR-191 at Milepost 78

May 2020

Utah’s New Lane Filtering Law

May 2019

Fatal Crash on SR-132 MM 42

July 2020

Fatal Crash on US-6 at MM 193

July 2020

4 months later: Did you have damage from the Magna earthquake?

July 2020