UHP’s 2022 Big Game Plan – Extra DUI Enforcement
The Utah Highway Patrol is sharing its game plan for Super Bowl weekend, and it includes extra enforcement, as well as encouragement to join their team.
Extra DUI Enforcement
For extra enforcement, over 20 different law enforcement agencies will be working more than 60 DUI overtime shifts. Every year, Utah law enforcement increases both DUI prevention education and DUI enforcement for the Big Game. Unfortunately, individuals still make the bad call to get behind the wheel after drinking. Over the past 5 years, there have been an average of 42 DUI arrests on Super Bowl Sunday in Utah.
We’ve got info and tips on how to keep your Big Game weekend safe below!
Statewide DUI Arrest data from previous Super Bowl Sundays*
2/5/17 – 35
2/4/18 – 60
2/3/19 – 31
2/2/20 – 43
2/7/21 – 42
*Numbers shown are for the 24-hour time period beginning at 6 a.m. on Sunday
Join the UHP Team
To help remind Utahns to drive sober this weekend, UHP created a new video with a dual purpose: raise awareness about increased DUI enforcement and highlight many of the career opportunities within the Utah Highway Patrol.
The Utah Highway Patrol is currently hiring for Troopers statewide and is encouraging individuals to join their team.
For more information and to apply, visit UHP – Trooper Job Posting.
Keep Your Big Game Weekend Safe
Never Drive Drunk
Whether you’re attending a party, hosting one, or going out to a bar, keep safety at the forefront of your night. When it’s time to leave, make sure your designated driver is actually sober. If he or she has decided to drink, call a sober ride. If you are driving, remember that sober driving isn’t the only law that should be followed: Make sure you — and your passengers — wear your seat belts.
Bonus Points for the Designated Drivers
If you’re planning to be a designated driver, know that you’re the night’s MVP. No matter what, do not drink alcohol — people are relying on you. If you are attending a party or at a bar, enjoy the food, the company, and the nonalcoholic drinks. Encourage other designated drivers on social media using the hashtag #DesignatedDriver. Your positive influence could help keep them on the right track. If someone you know has been drinking and tries to drive, take their keys and help them get home safely. Even if they make a fuss in the moment, they’ll thank you later.
For the Win: The Party Host’s Playbook
If you’re hosting a party for this year’s Super Bowl, prepare plenty of snacks and nonalcoholic drinks for your guests and the designated drivers.
Ask your guests to designate their sober drivers in advance. Remind drinking guests that they have a long evening ahead of them, and encourage them to pace themselves, to eat food, and to drink plenty of water. Another important reminder: Never serve alcohol to minors. If an underage person drinks and drives, the person who provided the alcohol can be held liable for any damage, injury, or death caused by the underage driver. In fact, you could face jail time if you host a gathering where alcohol is served to people under the age of 21.
Drug-Impaired Driving Penalty Points
Drunk driving isn’t the only risk on the road: Drug-impaired driving is also an increasing problem. If drivers are impaired by any substance — alcohol or other drugs — they should not get behind the wheel of a vehicle. It is illegal in all states and the District of Columbia to drive impaired by alcohol or other drugs. The bottom line is this: If You Feel Different, You Drive Different. It’s that simple.
Have a Game Plan
Whether you are attending a party or going to a bar or restaurant, make a game plan and follow these simple tips for a safe and happy evening:
- Remember that it is never okay to drink and drive. Even if you’ve had only one alcoholic beverage, designate a sober driver or a ride service to get home safely.
- If you see a drunk driver on the road, call 911.
- Do you have a friend who is about to drink and drive? Take the keys away and make arrangements to get your friend home safely.
Only one team wins the Super Bowl, but if you drive drunk, you may lose money, your reputation, your car, and even your life. Everyone should know by now that it is illegal to drive impaired. In 2019, there were 10,142 people killed in drunk-driving crashes. The costs can be financial, too: If you’re caught drinking and driving, you can face jail time, lose your driver’s license and your vehicle, and pay up to $10,000 in attorney’s fees, fines, higher insurance rates, and lost wages.
SHARE THIS MEDIA ALERT