Skip to content

Monday September 16, 2019 Salt Lake City, UT


Inside DPS

Press Release

Protecting Utah

DPS Forensic Services Staff – National Recognition

Monday June 10, 2019

At the recent American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors (ASCLD) Annual Symposium held in St. Louis, MO, employees of the Utah DPS crime laboratory received national honors and recognition. ASCLD is a professional society of crime lab directors and leaders dedicated to providing excellence in forensic science through leadership and innovation.

Jay Henry accepts an award at the American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors.
Crime Lab Director Jay Henry

Jay Henry, Laboratory Director, was honored with the Briggs White Award. Named after Dr. Briggs J. White, former FBI laboratory director and first chairman of ASCLD, the award is the organization’s highest honor. Recipients of this award must demonstrate exceptional competence and achievement in any area of public administration, leadership shown in the direction or development of programs, creativity and resourcefulness, adherence to the basic principles of enlightened public service, integrity, and dedication to duty. 

Jay Henry and Jennifer McNair at the American Society for Crime Lab Directors awards ceremony.
Jay Henry and Jennifer McNair

Director Henry, a past President of ASCLD, was recognized by his peers for his vision, leadership excellence, integrity, and mentorship of those within his laboratory and other laboratories nationwide. He has provided a tremendous service to ASCLD and to the profession as a whole throughout his long career in forensic science.

The awards presented to Justin Bechaver and Jennifer Gelston are curved etched glass.

Forensic Scientist Manager, Justin Bechaver, and Senior Forensic Scientist, Jennifer Gelston, both firearms examiners at the crime laboratory, were presented with the Forensic Technology Center of Excellence (FTCoE) Award for Best ASCLD Webinar on “NIBIN Challenges and Opportunities.” FTCoE provides training webinars each year in cooperation with ASCLD to elevate forensic science through advancing technology, sharing knowledge, and addressing challenges. The NIBIN webinar was attended by hundreds of practitioners and managers nationwide.

PowerPoint slide shows the FTCoE Award for Best ASCLD Webinar which goes to Jennifer Gelston and Justin Bechaver of the Utah Crime Lab.

Congratulations to Jay, Justin and Jennifer! We are fortunate to have such amazing leaders and forensic scientists dedicated to keeping Utah safe!



Marissa Cote
Public Relations Director
Department of Public Safety


More from the News Room

Utah’s New Lane Filtering Law

May 2019

Details on a fatal crash, semi vs truck, US-6 MM 226

September 2019

Additional details on the auto-ped incident I-15 NB at University Pkwy.

September 2019

UHP Kicks Off Adopt-A-High School Program with a Sweet Treat for Seat Belted Skyhawks

September 2019