Skip to content

Sunday May 22, 2022 Salt Lake City, UT Alerts: Power Line Down READ

Disasters

TOP STORY

Press Release

Protecting Utah

4 months later: Did you have damage from the Magna earthquake?

Tuesday July 28, 2020

Davis and Salt Lake County residents may be eligible for federal assistance

Image shows a crack in the road and text reads "Earthquake Disaster Assistance"
Data in this image was current on April 7, 2020.

Disaster assistance is now available for certain homeowners who:

✔

Live in Davis or Salt Lake counties

✔

Had earthquake damage in March

✔

Had damage not covered by insurance

Disaster Assistance steps

  1. Register with FEMA at DisasterAssistance.gov or or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. Help in many languages is also available.
  2. Registration takes you through a survey with about 25 questions, asking the location of the home, how many occupants, what kind of damage happened, insurance information and banking information in case you are eligible for assistance. Keep in mind that FEMA can’t assist you with anything that was covered by insurance.
  3. If needed, your application will be processed and referred for inspection. Because of COVID, FEMA is conducting virtual inspections over the phone or by using Facetime. Homeowners can also provide photos of damage. 
  4. If you receive a virtual inspection, the inspector will analyze that information and FEMA will determine what type and amount of assistance is available
    • Housing assistance ensures that people are in a safe home and can help with costs related to a functional kitchen or bathroom or restoring running water. It is not meant for new paint, cosmetic repairs, or restoring a home to predisaster status. The SBA may provide low-interest loans for other home repair projects.
  5. Once the review is complete, the applicant receives a determination letter that will detail how much was approved and what it is expected to be used for.
    • If an applicant is not eligible, they will receive a determination of ineligibility letter with details about why they were not found eligible (not enough damage, incomplete information or not a primary residence).
  6. Within 72 hours of the completed review, approved assistance arrives via direct deposit.

Deadline to register for assistance is September 8

If you have earthquake insurance, contact your agent or carrier. Keep in mind that earthquake damage is not generally covered by regular homeowners policies.

See the Resources section of the website for general financial assistance programs available for historic and unreinforced masonry buildings. 

###

MEDIA CONTACT

Cameron Roden
UHP Public Information Officer
Department of Public Safety
croden@utah.gov

SHARE THIS STORY

More Videos in this Series

Motorcyclist Killed on I-80

June 20, 2020

Fatal Crash: San Juan County on SR-191 at Milepost 78

May 11, 2020

Utah’s New Lane Filtering Law

May 8, 2019

More from the News Room

Media Availability: Click It or Ticket seat belt enforcement begins May 23 – June 5

May 2022

Fatal Crash in Davis County

May 2022

Fatal Crash in Salt Lake County

May 2022