Skip to content

Thursday October 28, 2021 Salt Lake City, UT


Inside DPS

Utah DEM and Salt Lake City Receive Award in Excellence from Seismic Policy Council

Wednesday May 1, 2019

The Western States Seismic Policy Council (WSSPC) honored employees of Utah DPS and Salt Lake City Emergency Management for a mitigation program they created to help homeowners with seismic retrofits on homes at extreme risk for earthquakes.

Brad Bartholomew, mitigation section manager from the DPS Division of Emergency Management, and Audrey Pierce, manager of Salt Lake City’s Fix the Bricks program, jointly received an Award in Excellence for Mitigation Efforts at WSSPC’s annual meeting on April 26 in Salt Lake City.

Brad Bartholomew (left) and Audrey Pierce received a recent award for their work to create the Fix the Bricks program for Salt Lake City homeowners in unreinforced masonry homes.

Salt Lake City’s Fix the Bricks program (FAQ page) facilitates seismic improvements for city residents who live in unreinforced masonry homes. Unreinforced masonry (URM) buildings and homes create the greatest risk for the Salt Lake Valley in the expected worst-case scenario Utah earthquake. Safer homes save lives by reducing the number of deaths, injured and trapped after an earthquake.

Salt Lake City applies for a pre-disaster mitigation grant from FEMA every year to fund the program. Our Division of Emergency Management produced the original guide for retrofitting URMs, which is the backbone document of Fix the Bricks. The document, available here, has since been updated through a partnership between the Utah Seismic Safety Commission and the Structural Engineers Association of Utah. The city intends this project to continue for several years and currently has a waiting list of applicants.

The State Hazard Mitigation Plan calls on Utah to create a statewide program similar to Fix the Bricks.

WSSPC’s mission is is to develop seismic policies and share information to promote programs intended to reduce earthquake-related losses. Members include Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and Yukon.

Joe Dougherty is the public information officer for our Division of Emergency Management.


More from the News Room

Motorcyclist Killed on I-80

June 2020

Fatal Crash: San Juan County on SR-191 at Milepost 78

May 2020

Utah’s New Lane Filtering Law

May 2019

Trunk or Treat

October 2021

DPS and UDOT warns: the scariest part of Halloween is pedestrian crashes

October 2021

Cybersecurity Awareness Month 2021 – Cybercrime in Utah

October 2021