Join the DPS Family: Become a Dispatcher
The Department of Public Safety’s Communications Bureau is looking to hire its next batch of emergency dispatchers to work in its Salt Lake Communications Center. How does a $5,000.00 signing bonus sound? Would you like to have a job that makes a difference? Would you like to help the public and first responders? Would you like a rewarding career with great benefits instead of just a job? Would you like to be able to retire in 25 years? If so, being a Certified Emergency Dispatcher with the Utah Department of Public Safety could be just the career for you.
Dispatchers are the critical link between callers and first responders. The purpose of this job is to provide dispatching services to single and/or multiple jurisdictions which include, but is not limited to state and local public safety agencies, the Highway Patrol, local law enforcement agencies, fire departments and other state agencies. Dispatchers receive calls for one or a combination of emergency police, fire, and medical services, and dispatch the appropriate personnel and equipment in response to the calls. Dispatchers often make urgent decisions affecting the life, health, and welfare of the public and public safety employees. Dispatchers are required to obtain Emergency Medical Dispatch (EMD) certification, and also Dispatcher Certification through POST within the probationary period and maintain both certifications thereafter.
Do you have previous Emergency Dispatch experience? If so, you may qualify for a higher hourly rate.
The Utah Department of Public Safety Certified Emergency Dispatchers participate in the Public Safety Retirement plan which is just a part of the benefits that the State of Utah offers. Other benefits include; 11 paid holidays each year, 4 hours of annual and 4 hours of sick leave granted each pay period for a total of 104 hours each year.
Candidates must have the ability to multi-task. Must pass position specific testing and a thorough background investigation. Preference will be given to those candidates with typing skills greater than 30 words per minute (documentation will be required). Must have a high school diploma or equivalent and be 18 years of age by hire date.
Job duties include providing dispatching/communications services for state and local public safety agencies, including the Utah Highway Patrol, local law enforcement, fire departments and other state agencies. Salary negotiable with police/fire/ems dispatch experience.
If you’re interested, click here. You must apply online at https://statejobs.utah.gov and refer to requisition #16259. Submit your applications by Sunday, July 1, 2018 at 11:59 p.m.